Barbed Wire, the Least of These, and the Least We Can Do

Image

I feel such dissonance when I hear people talk about US Immigration Policy.  The attitudes speak to the heart of who we are as a nation, and it’s often unsettling.   Are we a giving and generous nation, secure in our greatness and confident of our future; or are we huddled in a crouch position, hanging on to the greatness that is slowly sliding away from us?

We’ve just celebrated Easter, and the death and resurrection of a radical thinker named Jesus.  I have a friend whose faith and belief in this man is as intense as my own.  Thinking we were kindred spirits, I  was jarred by her recent comments regarding illegal immigration. Suddenly, this loving and tolerant woman became hostile at the thought of “those people” coming to take what is “ours”.

{{{Dissonance}}}

This discord reminded me of the barbed wires at the border, and of the nails piercing the palms.  Pity floods through me when I think of them.

My Dear Man works with immigrant populations, particularly Hispanic ones. Through his eyes and his heart, I have been introduced to another world.  You see, he is a naturalized US citizen–someone who came to find a better life for himself in this country that he heard so much about. It was love at first sight for him, as he learned how to be an American, and he IS as American as anyone that I know who was born here. His perspective and opinion of the United States is almost reverent in its respect and awe. I’ve learned to love my country more, just by knowing him.

He tells me stories of “his people”, the illegal immigrants working to gain status in this country. My heart breaks for what some of them have endured just to get here; and then it breaks again to see what they have to endure once they do.

“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me’.” Matthew 25:40 NIV

I agree.

~C-Lea

2 Comments

Filed under Spirituality and Religion

2 responses to “Barbed Wire, the Least of These, and the Least We Can Do

  1. I’m still split on immigration. On the one hand, we are a nation of immigrants. On the other, people claim that the immigrants take away jobs. I posit differently:

    Several years ago I needed some people to help me clear two acres so that I could landscape it. At $20 an hour I had not a single applicant from the United States. They were too busy playing video games. The only people who applied were people from “south of the border.” I won’t say what I did since the immigration police, IRS, Franchise Tax Board, etc., might be reading. lol

    • CallowLea

      Your discretion is understood and is welcome!lol

      I’ve heard many examples like yours, in which the jobs were offered and non-immigrants didn’t respond to them. The work needs to be done; and, without immigrants who are willing to do them, how will it get done? Our economy now depends upon them; and I think people just don’t want to admit that fact.

Your Comments